Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Carla C is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Created a form from a table, have I done this the right way around

Hi, I am pretty new to access, I have created a sales database for my Commercial Director but I now am doubting myself!

I have created a form based on a table. I put all the required fields into a table and then created the form, tidied it up, added a subform and various other boxes etc. Can you tell me if setting up the form this way will cause me problems later on. Should I have created a form from a blank form rather than the table?

Thanks in advance

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    It depends on the purpose of the form, If it is for data entry or viewing current data in the tables, there is nothing wrong with creating from the table itself. It is often the quickest and easiest way (rather than creating it all from scratch from a blank form).

Phew, thanks JoeM.

The form is a sales prospect record so I have allowed the form to create a new number and then drop in the remainder of the fields where required. the only thing I noticed today was when I amended one of the fields the view is different for example. 5% XXXXXX is viewed in my table but in my form the look up says 5.00% XXXXXX what have I not done here?

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    As JoeM mentioned, there is nothing wrong with creating a form based on a table. The critical part of a database is not the forms but rather the tables and the relationships between them. You mention a subform. Typically subforms are used to represent the data on the many side of a one-to-many relationship. When you have a one-to-many relationship, that typically means that you have at least 2 tables. So do you have more than one table? What does your table structure (tables & relationships) look like?

Yes, I have one table but pull info from other tables. I am worried now, is this part wrong?