LPNorman is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

"You don't have exclusive access...." error when opening a form

This was posted on "Microsoft Answers" last week with no response, so I am posting here.

I am just a programmer wannabe so please bear with me.

I just started getting get the "You don't have exclusive access...." error but not when I open the DB. It is only when I try to open a form and the other user is in the DB (there are only two of us).
    User 1 = Win 7 / Access 2010, User 2 = XP / Access 2007
    - The DB is a template from the MS site that I tweaked (field names, and some minor revisions, etc.) and we have been using for nearly a year
    - This problem only started this afternoon, and we have made no changes, only data entry (deleted all of today's entries - no joy)
    - DB is in shared file server folder (Small Business 2003 server)

- If User 1 opens the DB "exclusive" it operates correctly (i.e. fast response).
    - If User 1 opens the the DB normally, it operates correctly, but has slow response
    - User 1 gets the error message anytme User 2 has the DB open, no matter the sequence of access
    - When the error appears, If User 1 clicks the OK button enough times (or the "x"), the form will eventually open. Data can be entered and saved, but the response on close is so slow that sometimes there is a brief "not responding" error in the top bar before cursor is returned to teh user.
    - User 2 has NO issues, regardless of whether or not User 1 has the DB open
    - No add-ins on User 2 or User 1
    - Re-boots on both PC's and the file server: no change
    - Checked all of the user settings to ensure shared access, etc.

Any suggestions? I suppose that splitting the DB may solve the problem but I would rather determine root cause.

Thanks,

Larry

No one has offered any help for my problem, but I though that I would at least post this update: