lk12 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Counting selections in a list box - Help for Homeless Shelter

Hi guys I am new here, I am a university student helping out in a homeless shelter that has lots of admin work. Currently the Excel system they use is slow and laborious, as well as full of errors, and I am creating a basic Access system to help.

One main laborious task is to count the amount of records that relate to a specific type of support. eg. how many people were given a food package, how many people were referred to a hostel etc. I have created a list box that will store around 30 different types of support, and what I am hoping to do is find a way of automatically counting how many different types of support are logged each month.

The only way I can think of doing this is by running a query for each type of support, for every month, for every year, but this would mean I would have to create around 360 queries a year!

Could someone please help?
    Thanks.
    Last edited by pbaldy; 06-26-2012 at 08:30 AM.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    It would help to know your table structure. I'm thinking one parameter query.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

lk12 is offline Novice
    Thanks for the reply, I have thought of one way, maybe you could have a look and suggest some help.

I have created a form named 'Calculate Totals'. There are 2 datepicker fields name 'Start Date' and 'End Date', which are used as criteria and allow the user to specify the date range.

Each type of support will have its own query, with itself as the 'Type of Support' criteria, and the date range of between 'Start Date' and 'End Date' as criteria.