shira47 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Lock in value in header field in continuous form

I'm a total access newbie, it seems like this issue should be easy to solve, but I've been googling all day and can't
    figure it out. Please tell me if the question here isn't clear...

I have a continuous form with one field located in the header called PN (Part Number) and a few fields in the detail section of the form that are related to processes/parameters. The form is based on a parameter query and opens to one part number at a time (and there is no reason an employee would be working on two part numbers at a time)

The problem I'm having is every time a new entry is made in the detail section of the form, the PN disappears from the header and the PN is not recorded in the related table...is there any way to lock this information in so it always shows in the form and always gets recorded
    in the related table. I thought putting it in the header and not in the detail section would make it consistent...

Thanks in advance

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    What's happening is that the PN in the header, and the fields on the detail section are all bound to fields in the same underlying table, and more importantly, to the same record in that table. So, when you add a new record in the detail section, the header control moves to the new record as well, and is of course blank. You can do what you want to do, but it will require a bit of VBA code.

Are you familiar with VBA at all?

John

Missinglinq is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    What you're describing here sounds like the classic one-to-many scenario, with the 'one' side being the PartNumber and the 'many' side being the Detail Fields. This is usually handled with a Main Form/Subform set up.