86rainey is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Opening a form for a particular record.

Hi everyone.

I'm new to access so please bear with me!

I have a Database to store people's names and payments they have made. I have a table to store information about each. One person can have many payments and I've created such a relationship. I have a form that displays certain groups of people. I would like to have a command button beside each name that would open a form with their relevent payment records. I can get the payments form open but not the matching record. Any idea how to do this?

Any help or guidance would be great!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Show the code you use to open the form. Is it a macro or VBA? Are you using DoCmd.OpenForm? Use the WHERE CONDITION argument of th OpenForm method, something like: "ClientID=" & Me.ClientID
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

This is the code I'm using:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Inv_Payments", , , "SQA_Number = " & Me.SQA_Number

Clicking the button gives me an InputBox, looking for the SQA_Number. I want it to take the current SQA number and open the matching record from another table.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Is SQA_Number a number or text field? If text, need apostrophe delimiters:

"SQA_Number = '" & Me.SQA_Number & "'"

I don't understand why you are getting an input prompt. That indicates to me a query input parameter. If VBA could not find Me.SQA_Number, should trigger an error message, not an input prompt.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)