brharrii is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit

Form Design / Relationship Issues

I use access 2010. I'm self taught in access and have been learning it for about the last 4 months.

The database I'm working on is a specification database for Products our plant creates. I have my tables created and populated as they need to be, now it is just a matter of setting up forms / reports to allow interaction and interpretation of the data.

This is a simplified version of what I'm trying I have:

tblProductInfo - Main table
    - ID
    - Description
    - Customer
    - RawMaterial
    - Sauce
    - MasterCase

Sauce
    - ID
    - Description
    - Amount
    - IngredientStatement (Memo Field)

tblPackaging
    - ID
    - Description
    - Type (mastercase)
    - PalletConfiguration

tblRawMaterial
    - ID
    - Description
    - Species

tblCustomers
    - ID
    - Customer
    - ProductUse

I need to setup a form that will allow me to create a new product, type in the ID number and description and then choose the Customer, raw material, and Mastercase from comboboxes. This part I have figured out.

The part that is getting me is that once I have chosen the Mastercase, I already know what the ID and Pallet configuration will be for that specific master case. That information is stored in tblPackaging. I'd like to select a master case and have the ID and Pallet configuration appear on the form automatically referencing the corresponding information from tblMasterCase. Likewise when I choose the sauce, the customer, and the raw material.

I had started an approach to this that involved using unbound text boxes and editing their control source with something like:

Code:
    =[Raw Material 1].[column](0)