saultcollectibles is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Inventory Database Help

Hello Everyone

I will say right off the bat I am new to Access but am a very tech minded person so any help well dumbed down a bit would be helpful you don't have to worry about completely going over my head lol.

Ok so here is my problem I am building an inventory database for my collectibles business. I am limited in the construction of the database so that I can easily use it with my opencart import function.

I currently have 8 tables that are identical in structure but are for different product lines
    Example Action Figures has
    Product ID (PK)
    name
    categories
    sku
    upc
    model
    manufacturer
    image_name
    requires_shipping
    price

now my other tables for stuff like magic the gathering, beanie babies, etc etc the tables are identical to that, and than I created a union query to link them all together into a consolidated inventory called all products.

What I would like to do is have one entry form for my products that would allow me to chose which table to update, for example if I wanted to add a product to action figures I would chose that from a drop down on the form and than proceed to the data entry and it would place that item in the appropriate table.

Also any general advice on the database structure to make it easier to manage would be greatly appreciated as I said I am a novice at this so I am sure there is alot of room to improve

Thanks in advance

pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007