Accessnoob11 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Population text field from related data entered in another text field.

Hello all. I have literally been searching this forum and the internet all day to try and resolve my problem and have not found an answer that worked. So, I am sorry if this is a repeated question but I am looking for an answer that will work for my exact issue. To start off, I have never used access before today and I am trying to solve a problem that I believe to be somewhat complex. And here it is. For the company I work for, we sell products and use access for our database mainly for our warranty calls. So when a warranty call is taken, we open up a "form" within access, and use that form with drop down menus and other text fields etc. etc. for that certain call and customer. Obviously, they are all filled in as best as possible from the information that the customer gives us, and it is then stored. For our products, there is a name and a part number for everything that we sell. These both are part of the form that is used on a warranty call. I am wanting to make the form in access so we can write in the PRODUCT NUMBER in its designated text box, and when that is entered, I want the text box for the PART NAME to be populated automatically, depending on the part number entered. The reason for this is less time to enter, less questions we need to ask, and consistency with the data we need for different failure analysis for parts. (Many times the part name is misspelled and when doing a search, it will not be found). So, I know this is possible, but I do not have a clue where to start. If a formula is needed, please use "part name" and "part number" for the variables. Thank you so much in advance and I do apologize if this is a repeated question. Any help will be awesome.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Yes, a common topic.

Options: