EricMK is offline Novice
    Windows 2K Access 2003

Printing Flash Cards

I need to print a deck of flash cards from an Access database. I am an experienced C++ programmer, but I'm a complete novice when it comes to Access.

The flash cards must have one field printed on the front and the remaining fields printed on the back. When I try to "Create report by using wizard," I can print a report with the required information, but it is all on one side.

Is using reports the right way to do this, or do I need to use macros? When I try to use macros, I can walk through the database to extract the right fields, but I couldn't find any methods to print the fields.

If I use reports, can I use the wizard, or do I need to use design view? When I try to use design view, Access opens what looks like a dialog box editor, with a toolbar to place buttons, check boxes, and various Windows controls that don't seem as if they belong in a report.

I'm working a couple of non-programming jobs, since I haven't been able to find a programming job in a number of years, and I need to get this done for one of my jobs. I don't have time to spend six months studying Access to really understand it thoroughly.

Could someone please point me in the right direction so I can get started on this. Do I need to use design view to do this? What controls would I place on the design template? Text boxes or static text would seem to be the only ones that would be useful on a report, so I don't know what the other controls on the toolbar are there for. Or could I do this with the wizard. Thank you.

EricMK is offline Novice
    Windows 2K Access 2003