LeahJB is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit

Question Need help relating tables

Hi, I am very new to Acccess and programming language. Please, if you answer this question, use as basic, common language as possible. Here it goes:
    I have three sets of data I'm trying to relate. There is the "Family" table, "Individual" table and "Assessment" table. There can only be one family for each Family ID, but there can be multiple indivduals in the family. There can only be one indivudal per family role/ID (i.e., "mother," "target child," etc.). There can be multiple assessments for each individual.
    Therefore, the family table key is "Family ID" and the key for individuals is a composite of Family_ID+Invidiual_ID (the family Id value is taken from the family table). The Key for the assessment is a composite of Family_ID+Invidiual_ID+AssessmentPt. (the family Id and the Individual ID values are taken from the family table and individual table respectively).

I can get the Family and individual tables to relate appropriately, but not the assessment table. The most common problem is that the relationships between the Individual and Assessment tables are listed as "indeterminate" and so I cannot create referrential integrity.

Basically, I am creating a composite key that I then use as a foreign key, which I think might be the issue, but logically I am having a difficult time understanding why this won't work.

Thank you!

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Are you assessing families or individuals?

Review this tutorial http://forums.aspfree.com/microsoft-...es-208217.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

LeahJB is offline Novice

Assessments: