Endaxi is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Post Football (soccer) database design questions (not found in FAQs)

I recently discovered that a football stats program written originally by my Father in the days of Win 3.1, no longer works under 64-bit Windows 7, as the program is looking for "run32.dll". As a result, I have recovered all my data to TXT files, but now need another means of retreiving the information and stats from the data.

I am completely new to Access, but I aim to design a new database for recording every match played by my football club, Clyde, to include the list of Clyde's goal scorers (but NOT their opponents' scorers). Match categories are effectively the various competitions, such as League or Cup, etc.

At present, I have ALL the match data stored in a tabbed TXT file, in the following format:
    08/12/1888 SC Celtic 9 Clyde 2 Cherrie (2)
    28/09/1889 SC Clyde 1 Northern 2 Bonnar
    06/09/1890 SC Clyde 7 Whitefield 2 Brandon H, Brandon R, Gillespie, Neaves (2), Stevenson (2)
    27/09/1890 SC Clyde 4 Hurlford 3 Not Known, Brandon R (2), Neaves

I also have a list of the club's Managers, Grounds, and (although I probably don't need it separately(?)), the list of all the scorers (currently in the matches data), plus the list of match Categories.

In the program that no longer works, wildcards were used for filtering match categories. "??" meant all Matches, "?L" meant all League matches in All Divisions, and "1L", "2L", etc identified the League Divisions.