ma09fraga is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Two textboxes connected to the same table

Hello!

I am having a minor problem that I hope you can help me with.

I am no expert at using Access, but I usually manage to solve most of my, minor, problems. This time it is too tough for me though!

I am currently using Microsoft Access 2007. This is how far I have come:
    I have made a table with a field, and in the design view I have specified the field’s data type to “number”.

Thereafter I have created a form, in which I have put two textboxes: textbox #1 and textbox #2. My issue is that I want both textboxes to be bound to the same field in the table I made.
    I want to add some conditions to these textboxes, so that they function in this way:

- Since textbox number one always will be used by my users, I want the table to always retrieve information from textbox number 1.
    - In some situations, my users will write numbers in both textbox 1 and textbox 2. If my users have written a value in both textbox number 1 and in textbox number 2, I want the form to display both values, but I want the table to only retrieve the value from textbox #2.

Is this possible? I have tried everything I can think of, but I just don’t get it.

I would be very grateful if anyone could help me! (I would really appreciate step-by-step instructions, if you are able to do that! J)

Thanks a bunch!

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Let's start off by saying then with what you are describing you cannot have both TextBoxes bound to the same field. I have never personally seen a situation where a form needed to have two controls bound to the same field before.

Windows XP Access 2007
    It is like this;
    My operators must write a value in textbox 1 at all times. It doesn’t matter if the value is inside or outside the tolerances, they must write the value they have measured in textbox 1. Usually, my table will retrieve values from this box.