justgeig is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Initial "Customers" Table Planning

I'm fairly new to the world of Access database programming. Been working through a very useful textbook on everything Access related and I think I'm ready to start making my initial tables and establishing relationships.

In my "Customers" table, there are fields for FirstName and LastName as well CompanyName. I'd like to make all of those fields required to avoid missing information. The problem I'm running into is that some of our customers are only consumers and have no company name. On the flip side, some of our customers are businesses that have multiple people that can place orders. Obviously, I can't make all the aforementioned fields required because some of our customers legitimately don't meet all the conditions. I'm guessing that I'm missing a basic cornerstone of database design but looking through my book and google hasn't produced anything of value. I'd really appreciate any suggestions.

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    You might want to look at this tutorial
    http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/T...lationship.zip

I will try to be a little more specific.

In my "Customers" table, I want to ensure that either BOTH the "FirstName" and "LastName" fields are filled in OR the "Company" field is filled in for each record in the table.

Not every customer is a business and not every business has just a single person that we deal with. Unless I am missing something still, the link you provided (while another good read for me) wasn't useful for this specific problem.

Windows XP Access 2003
    If they are all customers, then perhaps you could define Customers as an individual or Company with whom we do business. Then have a field to identify the type of Customer - individual/business.

And a check within your logic for new/modified records such that

if Individual then