trubry is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Single Data Form Put Data into Seperate specific tables

I am new to Microsoft Access. I have built two entry forms for product release information. I have a drop box under the label customer for each specific customer. I would like for this form to send the data entered in the form to the customer specific table from the customer names in the drop box. I have tried to research and execute this myself thus have been very unsuccessful. Any help is great appreciated.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    It would typically be a serious design flaw to have customer specific tables. Do they hold different data for each customer (ie different fields)?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

trubry is offline Novice
    No the fields are the exact same for each table. I just want the form to recognize that when "A" Customer is selected in the form that the data entered moves to "A" Customer table.

RayMilhon is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    PBaldy is right your design is flawed badly. There is NO!! good reason to have multiple tables with exactly the same data elements.

Windows XP Access 2007
    I understand what you want, I'm just warning you that it would be a big violation of normalization rules. Typically you'd have one table, with a field to denote which customer the record is for. I suspect everything will flow much better for you with that design.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

trubry is offline Novice
    Understood. And thats what my original design was for. A field in the table noted which customer it was. I think my best route is to do a separate form and table for each customer. Thanks for your help

Windows XP Access 2007