Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    desimoreno is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14

    combo box-how to use all fields


    Hi, I'm sending this out again, in hopes someone will see it. I've attached a very stripped down version of my database. I created a combo box with 3 or 4 fields. normally, you open your combo box, find the record of choice, and you've already chosen which field will be linked to another field. what I'm wanting to do, is when I open my combo box, I wall all 3 fields shown in the combo box to populate certain fields in my form. . please help. .

    thank you in advanced

    PS, I've read way in which one can create search tables, or something like this, I've never done that, but I would be willing to learn if it make things work.

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,524
    Is this what you're looking for?

    BaldyWeb - Autofill
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    desimoreno is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14
    thanks. . I've tried that, but I don't think my database is set up in a way it would work

  4. #4
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,524
    Really? It works fine for me.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #5
    desimoreno is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14
    I guess I'm not filling in my fields correctly?.. . can you give me a screen shot of what you changed?

  6. #6
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,524
    Code:
    Private Sub Combo79_AfterUpdate()
      Me.Project_Name = Me.Combo79.Column(1)
      Me.Project_Number_Final = Me.Combo79.Column(0)
    End Sub
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  7. #7
    desimoreno is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14
    ok.. I did it.. . it worked.. .thank you a million over. . but I don't have a clue what I did. . I'll have to learn about what I just did. . I was trying to put this code as the control source.. . I think what I'm mostly confused about is the "Me" portion. . but as I'm looking at it now. .if I had more columns (or fields), then I would be just adding more "Me".s, and the number at the far right is the column number. . .ok. . I'm getting it. .other then the ME thing. .
    thanks again for your patience. . I really appreciate it

  8. #8
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,524
    "Me" is a shortcut to refer to the object the code is in. In this case, the form named main. So these are the same thing, when the code is behind that form:

    Me.Project_Name
    Forms!Main.Project_Name

    Another advantage to it is that as soon as you type "Me." you'll get a dropdown of available properties, members, methods, etc. Makes it harder to mistype anything.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  9. #9
    desimoreno is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14
    I think I see. . .time to school myself some more. .
    have a great day
    desi

  10. #10
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,524
    You too desi!
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Using a combo box to fill in other fields
    By mccluein in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 05:40 PM
  2. Multiple fields in combo box
    By spqr in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 06:52 AM
  3. Use combo box to update other fields
    By Shep in forum Access
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 03:11 PM
  4. Multiple Fields In One Combo Box.
    By caljohn527 in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 03:07 PM
  5. Combo box select from two fields
    By cnestg8r in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-31-2008, 10:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums