thulgar is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Unhappy Combo box / Text Box requires imput, then list box populates input

Greetings all. I don't know if that subject got your attention or just confused you but I will explain what I am looking for.

I am looking to have either a combo box / text box accept input from the user, eg user puts in first name or last name or SIN or home phone, and when doing so, will bring up any student record with matching criteria, by either *last name, first name, home phone, SIN etc*. And then when the list box has been filtered to what i'm looking for, i want to be able to click that record and open it up.

So here's where I need help. I have NO clue how to do this, I have searched for hours trying to figure this out, downloaded many different options or choices to try them, but I'm just learning Access, so far self taught over these last 3 months, and i'm starting to get stuck on doing things. I am creating a database and I need help with Access. So below is an EG of what i'm looking for.

combobox/textbox,,, user types in last name of McCloud, list box starts populating ANY record that has McCloud in it from a table I have created called *Students*, once I find the record i'm looking for whether theres 1 or 2 or 3+ records, I want to double click on that record in the List Box, and bring that students record up in the form that I have created for Students.

Any helps appreciated , i'm so lost its not funny.

danbo is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 64bit
    You're going to have to start looking at creating a query that includes your student names and cities. Then, on your form, create a combo box that uses the query for the results or make a report using the report wizard to do it.
    Start looking in the search engine for "synchronized Combo Box" that should help. I'm not familiar with the process or I would do better to help.

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003