jbessling is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Database layout issues

I am new to Access and I am trying to build a DB for fantasy football stats. I created a table labeled GAMES, and I have these fields:
    Season, week#, home team, home team points, away team, away team points, score, winner

I also have another table for TEAMS, so that the team names are referenced in a drop-down menu on the GAMES table.

The issue(s) that I am running into are that I want to be able to sort each week of each season and filter out the team with the Highest Point Value that week overall. In addition, I would like to be able to tally up the number of weeks that each team had the Overall Highest Point Total. Or for that matter, can I create a team's season record from this table? I would like to then display all of the teams' records created from this database. That way I could compare records, win-streaks, lose streaks, home record, away record, etc.

I would also like to attach the point total each week to their respective team. But sometimes the team is an away team and sometimes they are home. How can I (if this is the proper way to do it) make a relation with two fields in the same table. For instance, I want to see how many points the "Gridiron Grunts" have scored in a given season, then how do I associate the [Home Team] field with the [Home Team Points] in the same table?

Perhaps I need to be creating more tables? If someone has a template of something similar to this, I would love to get a copy. I don't know how to deal with head-to-head scoring and records. Its completely different than all the help options give which are primarily "Customer A" buy "Product X" "X amount of times", etc....

Sorry I have asked so many questions in one posting. But I think if I can learn to do a couple of these calculations then the rest should follow similar guidelines.

Thanks so much for any advice!

Jeff

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit