Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    boo is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16

    Interpreter/language problem

    Hi

    I am setting up a database of interpreters. At the moment the tbl_Interpreter contains interpreter name, address, etc as well as 80 or so records for each language, ie tbl_Interpreter.French with a yes/no data type. I want to design a form with a check box or drop down list to allow the language to be selected. This will then be passed to the query. My problem is how do I get the result, i.e. French from the dropdown box into my query? The structure in SQL is something like

    Select Interpreter Ref, Name
    From tbl_Interpreter
    Where tbl_Interpreter.Language = True

    So how do I insert the result from the form into the .Language part of this?

    I hope this makes sense! Any help would be most greatly appreciated.

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,931
    You have a table with a Yes/No column for each language? This is not normalized data structure and trying to create this sort of dynamic conditional criteria in an Access query object is probably not possible. It could be done in a VBA coded recordset but I am guessing that is not what you are doing.

    Normalized data structure which allows association of multiple languages for each interpreter would be:

    tblInterpreters
    InterpreterID (primary key)
    InterpreterFirstName
    InterpreterLastName

    tblInterpreterLanquages
    InterpreterID (foreign key)
    Language
    ProficiencyLevel (speakonly, readwrite, all)

    Now the query can have a criteria parameter for the Language field. This parameter can be reference to the form combobox.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    boo is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks very much june7. I will redesign my table structure and try that out.

    Cheers

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Multiple language interfaces
    By cavancura in forum Database Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-08-2011, 01:36 PM
  2. changing system language via VBA
    By focosi in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 10:40 AM
  3. Language in Access
    By Bill Casanova in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 02:00 PM
  4. Programming Language like Access
    By cwf in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 03:02 AM
  5. can't find language DLL
    By tequila in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 09:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums