Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Fearl3$$ is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Smile "Out of memory Error"

Hi there, I wonder if anyone can help me with a problem. I am having.

I will try to explain it as easy as I my self understand the database/application.
    One of Our Companies has a Custom application, that Connects to a MS Access DB. When you open the application, there is an option to access all the data, without generating any report.
    Most of the Numeric data are located in one table, and the Description To the numericdata are linked to a few other Tables.

So when you want to see all data without specifying what data you want the db gathers all the data from the different tables, and puts it into a table that you can export to a MS excel file.

Now what happens is, when gathering the data, the table/db runs out of memory. and give a "Out of Memory" ERROR after about a minute of trying to put all the data together.

I am not a Expert in Databases, but from what I know ,usually this happens because there are not enough memory allocated to the Db or its tables.
    On a SQL server you can allocate more memory to your db/tables to execute a query. But I have no idea how to allocate more memory to a MS access db/table.

The machine this app & db is running on has got sufficient memory : 3gb of memory. I have also set a 35gb page file on the pc, so that I know for a fact the page file is big enough....

If any one knows a solution to this problem, I have, please advise.

Thank you.

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Welcome to AccessForums. Is it the Custom Application that is giving you the error or do you actually run the Access db directly from the desktop?

Windows XP Access 2003
    We use the custom app for the front end, to connect to the access db.