halpme is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Multi-table Data entry form

Hello! I'm fairly new to access, and I've been attempting to figure this out with no luck. :/

I have a pretty extensive database with something like 4 master tables all "foreign-keying" into a single relational table. (And then there are more shoot-offs from a couple of those master tables... but I won't kill us all off with info overload. XD)

I'm just wondering if there is some way that I can populate information into all those tables with a single form? I want to be able to enter data into the form and then have it go to the 4 master tables AND that last table that holds the relationships together.

(If there isn't a single form that I can do this with, what would be the next best approach?)

So, i.e., I have my master tables:

tblWorkers
    tblCars
    tblCompanies

tblVisit

And the child table would relate all the information with the unique identifiers (in this case: the SSN of each worker, the VIN for each car, the tax ID number for each company, and then the visit code for each visit scheduled).

Is there any possible way I can do this?

I know about forms/subforms, and I've rolled that around in my head to see if I could do something with that... but it seems as though the form/subform only fits when it's a single master/child table set up.

Any help would be wonderfully appreciated! Please excuse my noobiness if I completely missed an obvious thing.

Thanks!

taxidev is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    You can have any number of sub forms related to a main table.

But your setup looks more like a bunch of lookup tables. You might want to not link the sub forms, just display the 4 tables, and have a dropdown in each of the 4 columns in the "child table", so you can select from the other tables.

halpme is offline Novice