accessnihon is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Creating a search function and using calculated fields

Good Morning,

I am new to this board, and sincerely hope that somebody could help me with a problem a have.

I am relatively new to MS:Access, and struggeling at the moment to realize a project I am undertaking right now.
    What I would like to do, is the following:

1. Create a form, where I can input a short-code (e.g. "abc") into a field a.
    1.1. The function should then search 10 columns in a table for the short code "abc" itself, or any code that contains it (e.g. "1abc2").

2. There are three more fields, that should then display information from corresponding rows to the value in field
    a.

3. I then want to calculate the share of the product in a fith field. To accomplish that, I would like to sum up the total population of all products.

Sadly I have to admit, that I am currently struggeling with all three points. I would appreciate if you were able to tell me:

a) If it is possible to realize it in Access at all
    b) How to solve the following problems:

1. I have not yet understood, how to implement a search function at all. Especially as I want to display static values as well as newly calculated values (especially the relative population share)
    2. I haven't found a way to calculate column totals, and use them to calculate the relative share. I have researched on a couple of different sites, and it seems to be possible, but I haven't figured out how.

I am quite new to the access syntax, so any help to help myself would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards.

hertfordkc is offline 18 year novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

May I suggest

You indicate that you already have a picture of your data table. However, I wonder why you must search 10 columns. This suggests that perhaps these should be 10 records in a related table. Having said that, create a table with a few records of the test data.