ron727 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Transfering data from one table to another

Hi All, I am new to Access so I apologize if this seems obvious. I am presently in the initial stages of a database and would like to do the following. I have 2 tables one called suppliers with (CompanyName, Adress, Phone, Fax, Website etc...) The other tables is a contacts table (standard contact template table) Now what I want is the following:

I fill the info of one supplier in the table for "Company A" : CompanyName, Adress, Phone, Fax, Website

I then want to add a contact that work for "Company A" in the contacts table. What I want now is that when i enter or select "Company A" in contacts table that the other relevant information i.e (CompanyName, Adress, Phone, Fax, Website etc...) fills in automatically

How do we do this and does that interfere with normalization rules?

RThanks for your help

CraigDolphin is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Hi Ron,

To answer your last (and most important) question first: Yes. Doing that would interfere with normalization rules.

First, I commend you for at least being aware of normalization. Most folks new to access are blissfully unaware of it and allow that to lead them into a whole mess of headaches down the road.

To the problem at hand:

Aside from junction tables, most tables represent an entity of some kind.

In this case you have a table for the entities called companies.
    CompanyID (auto, pk)
    CompanyName
    CompanyPhone
    CompanyFax
    CompanyEmail
    etc

Now there are also entities called 'Contacts' who are people working for companies.
    ContactID (auto,pk)
    CompanyID (FK)
    ContactFirstName
    ContactLastName

...and so forth.

One of the rules of normalization is that there should be no repeating information in columns/fields (aside from foreign key values)