caw442000 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

General Access Structure Question

I am new to access however over 10 yrs ago I did some basic databasing so I have a base knowledge I suppose. I am pretty handy with Excel however my boss is on an access kick now so I have to learn it. He has tasked me with a project where I have a database I imported from excel of over 6700 rows and 65 columns. Now some of the columns have information in the from cells that wont be imported. And some cells have errors and text in them which turn the column that is imported into access into a text when it should be a date or whatever. First question is how should I deal with making those tables date/time while leaving the error for the ones that have error and leaving the ones that have words written with words? Eventually all this information will be used to for tables that look like excel but easier to use for him as well as charts that will be easily customizable to change similar to pivot table. If any one has any suggestions on how to go about tackling this task it would be much appreciated. I will do the research later on whatever is suggested to tackle this database but was just looking for general direction. Also if it helps the information is hospital related with a surg#, 1 surg, 1 nurse, and various information on turnaround time and surg on sched. All informaton is based on surg # so that is the primary key. If it is more advantageous to break up the table into multiple tables I can do that also. In addition this database will grow weekly so whatever I do has to be able to import more data by the week.

Thanks

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007