moto485 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Want to match text with a related field and supplier an auto fill combo box

Hi, I have many suppliers on one a Suppliers table. I want to have a table with all the suppliers in the top row and the products in the coresponding coloumns below call it the Products table.

When someone fills out the PurchaseOrderForm they type in the product and in the combo box I would like that to auto fill if the exact same product is matched with in the Product table and if not they just select the the supplier from the combo box.

At the moment I just have the suppliers on a Suppliers table and they use the combo box to select the supplier on the PurchaseOrderForm. I am thinking of another table filled with products and suppliers.

I have attached a file to have a look at we have many more suppliers it is just for testing purposes. Hope I can be pointed in the right direction I am just learning. Thanks.

hertfordkc is offline 18 year novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Check out the Northwind sample DB

I believe it has tables and forms covering your situation.

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    What is your table All_PurchaseOrders supposed to represent? if it's items you ordered from a supplier you are going to have a TON of problems with this database.

First You have a SUPPLIERS table, but there's no unique identifier. You must have a unique identifier that is NOT related to the data in your table. Let's say Company A changes there name to Company AA any data in your subsequent tables will have a bunch of orphaned records if you change the name. If you store a unique identifier (autonumber is the easiest) instead you can change the vendor name as much as you want and all of your data will still be valid.

Second, you need a table that lists all products that you may possibly order, again, with a unique identifier.