Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 36
  1. #16
    CarlV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    23

    I'm a fan of names_with_underscores...hahaha....

  2. #17
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    When you add the "." to Me. the intellisense should pop up a list of valid entries. Just select the correct one and then tab out. You are going to want to chane the (1) to the appropriate column for each entry.

  3. #18
    CarlV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    23
    Excellent....
    So now I have....
    Me.Rank_CIV = Me.(When I let the intellisense look this part up it comes up with nothing that starts with cbo....confused again....but you are doing an excellent job at walking me through this...and you're very patient!!!)

  4. #19
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    The actual name of each control is the 1st entry on the Other tab of the property sheet. Unless you change them, the defaults are not descriptive of the function it performs.

  5. #20
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Based on the code you posted it looks like your cbo is named "Ticket".

  6. #21
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    That means you will want something like:
    Me.Rank_CIV = Me.Ticket.Column(1)

  7. #22
    CarlV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    23
    Private Sub Ticket__AfterUpdate()
    Me.Rank_CIV = Me.Ticket_.Column(2)
    Me.First_Name = Me.Ticket_.Column(3)
    Me.Last_Name = Me.Ticket_.Column(4)
    Me.Unit = Me.Ticket_.Column(5)
    Me.DSN_Roshan = Me.Ticket_.Column(6)
    Me.Service_Tag_Serial_Number = Me.Ticket_.Column(7)
    Me.Make_Model = Me.Ticket_.Column(8)
    End Sub

    With the above I get no error messages when I select a Ticket # from the drop down, however I also get no data into the fields.

  8. #23
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    You named your cbo control "Ticket_"? Are you letting the intellisense find your cbo name and then hitting the tab key?

  9. #24
    CarlV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    23
    Yes...When I look at the property sheet for the cbo the Name is "Ticket#". When I let intellisense lookup the name for the second half with Me. it gives "Ticket__" as the option. (Two underscores).

  10. #25
    CarlV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    23
    It looks as if the expression is built correctly, however when it executes no data is pulled from the actual cbo and inserted into the fields on the sign_out form. Is there another function that must be written in to set the focus on each of those fields and insert that data that was retrieved?

  11. #26
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    You do not need to change the focus. How about changing the cbo name to cboTicket and try it. You will need to rename the AfterUpdate event procedure.

  12. #27
    CarlV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    23
    Okay, I renamed the combobox to cboTicket.
    When I did Me. it pulled up cboTicket
    example: Me.Rank_CIV = Me.cboTicket.Column(2)
    I made sure the name of the EvenProcedure is now
    Private Sub cboTicket_AfterUpdate()

    I still get no errors when I select a Ticket # from the list, however I also still get no data in the corresponding fields.

  13. #28
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Add a MsgBox Me.cboTicket.Column(2) to the code and see what the computer sees.

  14. #29
    CarlV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    23
    I input MsgBox Me.cboTicket.Column(2) and got no results. No popup box, nothing.

  15. #30
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Have you set your Trusted Location yet? http://www.btabdevelopment.com/ts/de...aspx?PageId=13

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Student Sign in/out system
    By torpid in forum Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-25-2012, 08:04 AM
  2. Pound sign in text field
    By eww in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 10:30 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 09:33 AM
  4. Daily Sign In form
    By JHansford in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 08:41 AM
  5. The ampersand sign (&) and Access reports
    By tigers in forum Reports
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 08:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums