Lathian is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Post 1,000,000 number bind

I'm very new to access and have no programming background of any kind.

I have created a DB for a returned check program at work with 4 tables [Check Signers] [Merchants] [Returned Checks] [Banks and Misc] of which three are truly important ([Banks and Misc] has values that may or may not be needed but are values that repeat from case to case). I like that Access generates a unique Autonumber for each new case we have. That said my local government office uses a different format for their case numbering system.

It is perfectly fine that I use a random number but it has to be populated in terms of yy-BC-(case number).

Is it possible to modify the autonumber to display in this format Recycling every year (11-BC-0001, 12-BC-0001 etc.), or is there a away to create a field that will autopopulate in this format so that I can use that number as the reference for my local government office?

If this can't be done it's not the end of the world as we would have to process 1,000,000 cases before the Clerk would run out of placeholders in their system (Simply place a yy-BC-(autonumber's number) on the report).

Thank you for your time and yes I am a n00b at access.

P.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Cannot modify the autonumber field. You can either save the prefix to another field or make it part of a formatting structure whenever you display the autonumber value. I presume you have a date field that could be used to determine the correct year prefix.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

sshepard is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Use an update query and a new field

Adapted from http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...in=HA010131676