KrisDdb is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Question Generate a report based on value from Combo box

Hi All

I am a newbie with MS Access. So pls go easy on me. Now heres my question..

I am trying to design a form which would have a combo box cbo1(Market) and a command button (btn1) to finally view a report based on the values selected in the combo box. The query (say qry1) that the report uses has about 11 columns, in which Market is one of them. And I have 8 different Markets. Now i need to be able to generate the report for two options:

1. I should be able to show the columns for the selected market ONLY(it need not be multiple selections; just one will do). Example: If I selected the Market 'Chicago', I want the report to display the column values for only Chicago.

And the other option is.

2. I should be able to show the columns for 'ALL' markets together. I dont actually have an option by name 'ALL' in the 8 values for market. I would like the combo box to show the option 'ALL' along with the 8 values in the list. Is that possible? If yes, how?

I dont know if i have given sufficient information, but if more information is needed, shoot it up. Any help is greatly appreciated

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    You can use this technique:

BaldyWeb wherecondition

I would probably just let the lack of a selection in the combo represent the "all" choice, but you can also do this:

http://access.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0043.htm

and test for it.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    The first video will show you how to set up the query and search. Change the text box to a combo box and do pretty much the same thing, however, look at the second video to see how the combo box works with a filter and adapt it for a query.

First video: http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...earchform.html