Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    kctalent is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Find duplicates query to populate input form

    I have a ClientTable that contains client contact information, which has been uploaded from all sales reps for the purpose of making individual sales calls. What I need is a MainForm for the caller to select a specific RepName from a drop down list and have it populate the results into an InputForm, which will need to be editable to the original table.



    What I believe I need is a find duplicates query based on the rep name chosen, but also have it populate into the input form and be editable back to the original table. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

  2. #2
    Robeen is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma.
    Posts
    1,596
    Did you ever figure this out?
    If not - rephrase your question and reply to this & I'll try & help.

  3. #3
    kctalent is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4

    Customer List by Sales Rep

    Thank you Robeen - What I have is a table with sales rep contact information and a table that has all customer contact information for all sales reps. What I'm trying to do is have a drop down list of sales rep names. When you select the sales rep, it causes all customer for that rep to populate an editable form. IE: Associate needs to make calls for John Doe, so she selects his name and it fills all fields on the input screen for the first customer alphabetically. Once she has updated their information by tabbing through the fields, it goes to the next customer for that same rep.
    The database is too large to update here, but I have attached a screen shot of what the input screen looks like. Thank you for taking a look at this.

  4. #4
    Robeen is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma.
    Posts
    1,596
    Could you tell me what you CAN and what you CANNOT do?

    I'm not sure I've understood correctly, but it seems like you are already able to pull up the first customer for the rep that is selected from the MainForm. Is that correct?

    Why do you think you need a Find Duplicates query?

  5. #5
    kctalent is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4
    CAN DO
    Populate all sales rep contact information, photo and territory map
    Search by School and Search by City drop down lists
    Email buttons launches Outlook and populate email address
    Upload Date and Modified Date fields are functional
    URL is created from address fields

    CANNOT DO
    Narrow account contact information to specific sales rep
    Populate email subject line and body from various fields
    Launch browser and populate URL to Google Maps

    *My biggest issue is being able to select a sales rep from a drop down list and have it populate the form with account information only from that specific rep. Right now it just pulls up the entire customer list.

    Find Duplicates Query was the only thing that made sense to me, but clearly I have hit a wall and may be just reaching for straws. Thank you again for your time.

  6. #6
    Robeen is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma.
    Posts
    1,596
    Hi KC!

    I was looking through some of the work I've done with something similar and while I couldn't find anything EXACTLY like your problem, I did find something that you might be able to use.

    I have a Search form on which I have a combo box that lists all the departments in our company.

    When I select a Department from the combo box & click the 'Search Department' button, it opens another form that displays all records for that one department.

    Here's the code behind the Search Department button:

    Code:
     
    Private Sub cmdDepartment_Click()
    ClearValues ("Department")
    Dim Department, Dept As String
    Department = "[Department]=" & "'" & Forms!Search.Controls!cmbDepartment & "'"
    DoCmd.OpenForm "Master_Datasheet", , , Department
    End Sub
    This might give you some ideas. I hope it helps.

    If it doesn't, I'll keep trying to find a solution for you.

  7. #7
    kctalent is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4
    It certainly sounds like it would fit the situation. I will try it tomorrow and let you know how it turns out. Thank you!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-05-2011, 01:55 PM
  2. Run a query based on an input from a form
    By apoorv in forum Queries
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-11-2011, 01:39 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 09:03 AM
  4. Duplicates in Query
    By Dega in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2010, 05:09 PM
  5. Find Duplicates Query
    By mulefeathers in forum Queries
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 05:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums