bomber72 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Search Button

Hey everybody. I'm pretty new to Access and was hoping to get some good help here.

I'm trying to create a search function with a search bar and a button on a form. It will be used to search for employee IDs within a table. When the button is clicked, the program should do the following:

1) read the Employee ID in the search bar

2) Locate that Employee ID in the "Employees" table
    3)Display the resulting Employee, along with other information about the employee on the table (region, pay grade, etc.)
    -If the information does not exist-
    4)Bring up a message box saying 'This Employee ID could not be found'

I'm not sure how I want the information displayed yet, and am looking for suggestions. The only two things I can think of is either on the bottom of the current form or activate a different form displaying this info.

I've been looking through these forums trying to find a search button solution that would work for me but I can't seem to find it. If anybody knows one that will help go ahead and refer me to that one.

Thanks!

Bomber

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Both approaches are possible (display on same or another form).

1. Same form approach uses code to set the form's filter property and toggles the filter on/off. Form must be bound to source data table/query.
    Me.FilterOn = False
    Me.Filter = "strEmpID='" & Me.cbxEmpID & "'"
    Me.FilterOn = True

2. Another form approach uses code to open form filtered to the desired record.
    DoCmd.OpenForm "formname", , , strEmpID

The 'search bar' should be an unbound combobox that offers a list of existing employees to choose from. If employee not in the list then give user opportunity to add employee record. A button is not necessary if there is only the one criteria. Use the AfterUpdate event of the combobox. Check out the OnNotInList event of the combobox as well as the LimitToList property.