scubagal is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

User Interface

Hi everyone, happy to find help here with Access. I am a novice with Access and unfortunately was chosen to create a database for people at work. I know how to create tables and queries and enter data into tables. What I need to do is create a nice user interface for others to be able to enter data but not be able to edit or manipulate data. They should be able to hit a drop down arrow and choose from data I have already entered and then fill in an address beside of the data that is there. I hope I am making sense in trying to explain this. Like I said, I am a complete novice at this and any and all help or advice will be appreciated. Please let me know if I need to provide more information. Thanks.

Jonpro03 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    To make it user friendly, I would create a Form. Select the table you'd like the form to display data from. Click Create - Form. I would also add a combo box and select the 3rd option in the wizard. That will make it easier to select/search for records. [EDIT: After re-reading, this may not be what you want] There is also a button wizard which is good for adding Next/Prev/Save/Exit buttons to your form.

Once you are happy with your form, select File - Options. Click Current Database on the left. Change these settings as you see fit. Be sure to select the form that you made in the Display Form: box.

To keep users from making changes, I like to de-select Enable Layout View and Enable Menus. If you would like a little bit more security, you can change the extension from accdb to accdr.

EDIT: I forgot to say that if you would like to have some fields with only a limited amount of entries, open your table in design view. Change the Data Type of that field to Lookup and select 'I will type in the values that I want'. This will give your users a dropdown box with selections instead of a text box.

scubagal is offline Novice