Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Report Printing Error

    I have a strange error that I hope someone here can help with. I have been programming in VBA for quite some time and have not seen this one.

    The scenario is this:
    1. Access 2007 (SP1) database w/switchboard
    2. Bring up a form that I can filter
    3. Print the filtered list

    Sounds simple. When the database is in development mode (accdb) the printing works fine. As soon as I put it into runtime mode (rename to accdr) the filtered list prints and the the generic error message comes up.

    Execution of this application has stopped due to a run-time error.

    The database then closes itself.

    I am unable to capture because it doesn't happen in development mode.

    Few questions.
    1. How can I log the actual error into say Event Viewer
    2. What could be different between development and runtime mode?


    3. What else can I do to trap the actual error.

    Typically I get an error in development mode and runtime mode. Then I just throw a breakpoint in figure out where I made my mistake.

    Any help would be apprecitated.

  2. #2
    thhui is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    235
    It is really a problem in runtime version.

    The runtime version may not be the same as the true version.

    But in older verison of access, you could change the application mode of access so that it can run in runtime mode instead and see what will happen.

    See?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2
    I think that you are saying that I can put it in run-time mode while I am developing. If that is what you are saying, how does one go about doing that in Access 2007?

  4. #4
    thhui is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    235
    Try the old method:-
    Access a specific Database in Runtime Mode. (msaccess.exe \\mydbpath\mydb.accdb /runtime).

    Then run and see what the difference is.

  5. #5
    thhui is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    235
    Some errors would be in run-time mode.
    I have some experences about that.

    Some of the small errors in closing form would not be an issue in true access.
    But the run-time version will not handle it even it is minor one.

    So you should check the error code when the error happen.

    Therefore, showing all the error code so that you know what go wrong when error appears is your main business right now in changing your original code in accdb.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to automate printing and saving reports
    By lilynet in forum Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 01:33 PM
  2. Printing all tabs on one form
    By sshafer1 in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 07:47 PM
  3. Printing Reports....
    By Danny Christie in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-06-2006, 05:51 PM
  4. Printing multiple copies of a mailing label
    By Flight Planner in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2006, 08:16 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2005, 09:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums