kami is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Auto fill values in form- 3 situations

Hi! I am an advanced beginner access user and I’ve been trying to make a form a little more user-friendly. My limited skills have only gotten me so far, and I am still struggling to find solutions to these three things:

1. I would like to have Client ID automatically fill in based on values in other fields in the form. The Client ID is the first letter of the first name, last three letters of last name and year of birth. There is currently a spot to type in first name and last name, but these fields only need to be filled out for about 1% clients. If possible I would like to have spots to type in first name and last name that are not recorded in the table, but are used to construct the Client ID. If it isn’t possible, the already existing fields will do.

2. The form contains two dates: Sample Date and Session Date. They are always the same, but I have to keep both on the form. I would like to automatically fill in the Session Date after Sample Date is filled in. If it makes a difference, these dates are broken up by month, day and year in separate fields.

3. There are three types of “colors” and three types of “flavors” listed in drop boxes. Red and vanilla always go together. I would like to make it so when red is chosen from the drop box, vanilla will automatically be filled in.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Rod is offline Expert
    You will need to write a few lines of VBA code. I assume you're happy with that and know how to get to the form's module. If you don't then ask.

Splitting dates into separate controls for month, day and year does mean you cannot use all those handy Access date functions but for the moment don't consider redesigning.