hawkins is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2007

User Input/Updating Tables Help

I am brand new to access and am having some troubles with a project I am working on. I have a list of objects that have 5 descriptions ( or columns) that need to be answered about each object in what I believe needs to be a form. I want to be able to have a drop down menu that I can choose which object I want to record the descriptions about. I need to also be able to update the descriptions by using the object in the drop down menu as a row identifier. My main questions are is a form what I should be using to populate and update the data, how do I use a drop down menu to locate the row that I want to populate/update the data, and how do I update in a form.

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    I think your first task, if you want advice and help from the group, is to tell us in your own words what you are trying to do. Not in terms of dropdowns and forms but in business terms.

What is the subject matter? How do the subjects relate? What are the processes involved?

eg, We make cars. We get parts from our suppliers. We have a manufacturing facility.... whatever. At this point we can see you are "over your head" and focused on forms and dropdowns. Time to step back and tell us what you're up to as if you met us on the street and had 2 minutes to describe your situation, pose a question that others can understand.

If you are determined to focus on the nitty-gritty without the basics, then you might want to browse thru the free video tutorials at http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/AccessMain.htm

Pick any of them and watch it.

hawkins is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2007