bcouzens is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Entry of Large Data Sets into multiple tables

This is my first attempt at making a relational database to fit my needs, so sorry if this is a basic question. I am attempting to make a direct marketing database with multiple tables that will accommodate the import of large data sets (csv.)

I have developed the table structures, made various queries and forms, and have modified tables with various action queries. My problem is that I don't understand how to import a large csv data set to more than one relational table in the database (Ie. splitting the csv into multiple tables that are relationally joined.)

As an example, I have a table for "Agencies" that contains all agency contact information, I have a second table for "Demographics" that charts the demographic data for each agency. I also have a "Contacts" table for charting any contact that I may have with the agency.

The problem is that the external csv data set (import data) may contain both the "Agency" data and "Demographic" data in the same table. I need to import it to the separate tables in a way that keeps the data integrity.

I thought that using a query joining the tables would work with an append function, but it seems that append only works for one table at a time.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    It would help to see an example of the raw data and how it needs to end up. I'd expect multiple append queries, each pulling the key field plus the fields appropriate to its table.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Here is one version of a field from an incoming csv