Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    adrian84 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Trying to move record from one table to another!

Hello!

First let me say, I have seen a ton of forums on this topic and I have even seen a million answers and people posting code... After viewing and TRYING the solutions (SQL, Queries, VB) I have arrived at that I am an epic failure lol...

It is such a simple concept! A simple single record move!

So let me give you a little details and hopefully someone out there can hook me up!

Story: I work as a contractor for a branch of the Military and I manage servers. Managing servers is my duty. We go through stages of replacing servers. To better track the servers and all the details about them, i.e. IP, MAC, S/N, warranties, Repair history, etc., I have created an MS Access 2007 DB. The DB works amazingly well and is very helpful. However, we decommission servers and still want to keep record of them. Hence some database modifications..

Situation: I need to be able to move 1 record from one table to another table in the same DB. Before you say "why would you do it that way", let me first say that this is just the way it needs to be. The DB started off as my personal tracking system that I shared with my team, today it is widespread across the entire department. With that, my leads and all have more say of how it is to be done. So...hence 2 separate tables.

Details: As I have said the objective is to get 1 record from one table to another. My records are all servers. So when we decommission a server, I have to be able to hit a button on my form that says "Archive" and then that record or "server" will leave the current table and then be placed in our "Decommissioned Servers" table. So I got two tables that I need to be able to transfer single records between via a button on a form.