darlaj5 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

New at access and confused

Ok I"m trying to create a data base for our transportation department for special needs students. I have narrowed it down to three tables:
    1-sped students-contains all info about students
    2-pick up schedule

3-drop off schedule
    Then I created a Query that combines all info. I will then create a query for each bus. My problem is in each table I want to put the students name but the data is not consistant. Meaning if I change the name in one it doesn't change in the other. I made the relationship the id #. And when I complete the form the id # in all tables and queries are the same but the common fields are not.

I'm very new and self taught so if anyone can help me I would really appreciate it. Thank you for your time.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    You need to determine what entities make up your data structure. By schedule do you mean an established bus route? Are students assigned to a bus/route? Wouldn't the pickup route be the same as dropoff?

Need to know more about the data tables you have set up. Not sure two schedule tables are needed. Are the fields same in both?

Not really understanding this statement: "And when I complete the form the id # in all tables and queries are the same but the common fields are not."

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    darla,

I'm sorry honey, but I wasn't going to butt in here. but have you considered a third party here? I know here in Iowa City, IA, the bus systems are now run by conglomerates, which is a very good thing. Good thing of course, because of the fact that they have access to server knowledge and knowledgeable professionals.