stanbridge is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Supertype / Subtype Autonumbers and Forms

Hi all,

I have setup a new "Birds" database. I am new to Access. So far have setup have setup the following Tables and Fields...

tblBIRDS (Supertype)
    Bird_ID (PK)
    Bird_Sex
    Bird_Weight
    Bird_Type (from ComboBox: Parrot, Budgie, Magpie)

tblBIRDS_PARROTS (Subtype)
    P_Bird_ID (PK)
    Beak_Size (from ComboBox: Large, Small)
    Number_Of_Colours

tblBIRDS_BUDGIES (Subtype)
    B_Bird_ID (PK)
    Has_Crest (yes/no)
    Number_Of_Colours

tblBIRDS_MAGPIES (Subtype)
    M_Bird_ID (PK)
    Continent_Of_Origin
    Wing-Span

I am having trouble with applying an Autonumber Primary Key for tblBIRDS (Supertype) and having subtypes automatically use the next supertype autonumber when keying a new record through my form.

I have the PK (Bird_ID) in tblBIRDS set as an Autonumber. I have the PKs in the subtypes (eg: P_Bird_ID) set as a Number (Long Integer).

The PK in the supertype has a 1to1 relationship with the PK in each of the subtypes. Referential integrity is enforced and I have "Cascade Update Related Fields" turned on.

Ideally (for example), I want to have a Form that lets me enter a new instance of tblBIRDS_PARROTS. The PK number (P_Bird_ID) would automatically use the next available Autonumber from Bird_ID in tblBIRDS.

Can somebody show me how to do this?

Any help is very much appreciated! Thanks!

Regards,

Stanbridge

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    I am concerned with a couple of things. First, it is not a good idea to have list and combo boxes at the table level. They are best left for form. See this site for reasons why it is not a good idea to have list/combo boxes at the table level.

Now as to your tables. If a bird can only be of one type then you are correct in having the type field referenced in tblBirds, but that reference should go to 1 table that has the types

tblBirds
    Bird_ID (PK)
    Bird_Sex