TrKent is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

First time using access. big project.

Hello, I am very new to access, still in the process of learning what all access does. My project for work is to create a database that tracks a multitude of information about our company's equipment and vehicles. I will try to list out what all I would like it to do and if anyone can give me some pointers on where to start this that would be great.

-Each vehicle/machine must have a service history (record of each time it was serviced, who performed it, what filter(s) and fluids were used, what the miles (or hours) were)

-Track when the next service for each vehicle/equipment is and if possible predict the date when it will be done base upon the average miles driven per day/ hours operated per day. also with that it needs to show what services needs to be performed during the next service. then generate a form to give to the employee that shows which services need to be done to the vehicles they drive and machinery they operate.

-Keep track of an inventory with many different suppliers and for 3 separate companies (there are two companies this database will be for, one with 2 separate locations) create order forms and track which filters went to which vehicle/equipment along with the cost associated with that. (i.e. each time a service is recorded a filter and fluid amount must be deducted from the inventory and then a form must keep track of which vehicle used which filter and fluids and the cost associated with that.)

there are quite a bit more intricacies that i would like to put into the database but i guess this is a good place to start.

Thanks, your help is much appreciated

spkoest is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    My first step would be to layout your tables in a way (normalized) that will make your data entry and reporting easy.

TrKent is offline Novice