Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Lake Tahoe, CA
    Posts
    10

    Unable to create new record in Forms

    I have 1 of 1 record showing in a form (created from a simple Table!) that has 4 subforms attached to it. No new records are possible, it will not forward to a blank form.

    I created a new form with just one subform and it works as it should but don't want to rebuild from scratch.

    Data tab in the subforms is set properly to link to the primary key of the form- Link Master Fields and Link Child Fields



    Any help troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    Last edited by escapades_access; 03-10-2011 at 06:18 PM.

  2. #2
    161 is offline L33t N00b
    Windows 2K Access 2003
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    33
    I have had this problem before. For me, it came when I tried to tie query results into the control source for some of the fields in my form.

    It is possible that it doesn't like the way you inter-linked your forms together. I had to modify mine where I input the actual formula, or pull information from other fields on that particular form, rather from other sources.

  3. #3
    thhui is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    235
    Could you post a sample 2000 format mdb file for testing?

  4. #4
    ansentry's Avatar
    ansentry is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    67
    escapades_access,

    Do you have:

    1. Main form with 4 separate subforms

    or

    2. Main form with subform4 being subform of subform 3 subform3 being subform of subform 2 etc.

    A copy of your db would help.

  5. #5
    escapades_access is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Lake Tahoe, CA
    Posts
    10
    I am having trouble uploading the .accdb but it is a Main Form with 4 separate subforms. Picture a main form with all the basic plot information and 4 subforms with many relational data to that one plot. I have tried entering data in the tables but again same problem with not going to a new blank record. I am going to remake the Form as a last resort.

    Any suggestions are welcome! Thanks!

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,914
    Quote Originally Posted by escapades_access View Post
    I am having trouble uploading the .accdb but it is a Main Form with 4 separate subforms. Picture a main form with all the basic plot information and 4 subforms with many relational data to that one plot. I have tried entering data in the tables but again same problem with not going to a new blank record. I am going to remake the Form as a last resort.

    Any suggestions are welcome! Thanks!
    Right click on the accdb and "Send to Compressed Folder". Then attach the .zip file to a post.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 02:34 PM
  2. unable to add new record
    By itsmemike in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 04:23 AM
  3. Create new record in subform
    By david.paige in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 02:00 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 10:25 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 12:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums