Dexter is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003

Auto fill a due date column in a query

Can anybody help me ?
    I'm pretty new to access but have a query (for correspondence) in which, among others, there are "date received", "type" of correspondence and "reply date" columns.
    What I now need is a column headed "Due Date" and wondered if there is an expression I could use whereby this column could be automatically populated, based on the entries in the "date received" column, but also to take into account the fact that the "type" column (i.e. kind of correspondence) would necessitate a different "due date".
    Ahy help would be greatly appreciated

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    ...but also to take into account the fact that the "type" column
    You will need a way to correlate the "type" with a number of days that should be added to the received date to calculate the due date. What I would typically do is to have a table that defines each type and the associated frequency (in days or whatever units that are needed)

tblCorrespondenceTypes
    -pkCorrTypesID primary key, autonumber
    -txtCorrespondenceType
    -longFreq (the frequency in days, long number field)

Then in your main table you would reference the correspondence type via a foreign key. Once the main table and the tblcorrespondenceTypes are related you can pull the information as necessary in a query to do the calculation

SELECT dateadd("d",tblCorrespondenceTypes.longfreq, maintable.datereceived) as duedate
    FROM maintable INNER JOIN tblCorrespondenceTypes ON maintable.fkCorrTypesID=tblCorrespondenceTypes.pkC orrTypesID

Dexter is offline Novice
    Hi
    Thanks for that, I have created the table with the fields "CorrTypesID", "Type" and "Num of Days" but don't know how to reference/relate the two tables.
    Also would I then enter
    "SELECT dateadd("d",tblCorrespondenceTypes.longfreq, maintable.datereceived) as duedate