tat2z_21 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Personnel Roster with 4 sections

I am new to access, I have tried and tried, and never been successful. I am the proud owner of Access for dummies, and still can not get this. I am currently trying to develope a personnel roster that is broken into 4 seperate sections. Section 1 will have "x" amount of people, this will need to be catagorized by rank and paygrade. And the same for the rest of the sections. I would like this to have a search feature and the ability to add notes as required. I know that this is probably really simple, I can not figure this out. If there is anyone that can help it would be greatly appreciated.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Nobody out there with any guidance, I am sure with all of you out there on the site, someone has to know what I am talking about.

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    tat,

the first thing you need to realize is the "flash" effect that Access gives when you're presenting your apparent skills to someone else. Is this roster of yours going to be presented to anyone else? As in, is anyone else going to see it but you?

If not, do it in Excel. I say this, simply because the people that claim "not to get it" with regard to the Access program sometimes beat themselves up over nothing when Excel is readily available to meet their needs, but they're simply obsessed with "upgrading" their data presentation, when in reality, the majority of times it's not even necessary.

Are you in this boat as well? If you are, I would recommend using Excel, especially if you already know it! It's MUCH more friendly than Access is. After all, when you open Excel you see something on the screen that unconciously tells you to type something in those pretty little cells. Open Access and you see a blank screen. So what is there to do? That's what people inevitably think.

My opinion and advice for you. Take it for what you willl...