CrazyFileMaker is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Relational Structure - Beginner Question

Hello,
    I'm trying to store a dictionary in a database.

I am a newbie access user, and my questions on this are very basic.

Firstly: What is the ideal relational structure for such a database?

Here's what I'm thinking:

I make a parent table "WordList" with field "Word", and each record in that field contains a word from the dictionary.

I then create a separate table for each word in the dictionary, and each word's table would store the properties of that word under different fields (i.e. pronunciation, definition, part of speech, synonyms, antonyms, etc.)

In this scenario, what would the relationship be from the words in my parent table "WordList" to each individual word's table? Is it One-to-One? One-to-Many?

Secondly: How would you suggest setting up the keys for such a table?
    If each word in the "WordList" table is a primary key, then how would you suggest I store the foreign key in each individual word's table? Do I have to make a field named "Word" in each individual word's table and make it the foreign key?

Thirdly: Along the lines of my last question, is it possible to make the foreign key in a table the value of a field, and not the field itself? In other words, does a foreign key have to be a field name, like say, "PartOfSpeech"?, or can it be a record's value under that field, like say, "noun"?

Sorry about the newb questions. I'm somewhat competent at excel and programming in VBA, but I'm still trying to wrap my head around databases and their structure.

Thanks for any and all help! All suggestions and corrections are much appreciated!

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyFileMaker View Post
    What is the ideal relational structure for such a database?
    that's absolutely impossible to answer, and every expert will say the same thing. every situation will vary the result.