Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    baseborn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    17

    ok what am i missing here ?

    Ok ive been trying to create a working form thats going to allow me to enter movies into my database. i only have 2 tables. Table:Movies is the table that needs to be populated by the use of this form. just 3 fields per record (ID,Title and Category). my 2nd table is Table:Categories and it actually holds the list of categories. just 2 fields per record (ID and Category Name). now as far as my form all i need to do is type in a name for the movie im entering into the db, select what category it fits in from the combo box and click "Add Record" and boom its entered into Table:Movies



    1 - Friday The 13th - Horror


    Well, the combo boxs works fine i mean it shows all of the categories from Table:Categories but the problem is, when i click "Add Record" it doesnt add what i selected from the combo box, so it will look like this

    1 - Friday The 13th -

    there has been a few times that i can get it to show a number but its not the correct ID for it and plus i dont want it to show the ID i want the name. so i have to be missing or just over looking something real simple. i have created about 20 different forms even types along with the wizard and everything. i even have a relationship set between the 2 tables. Category Name from Tables:Category to Titles from Table:Movies. any idea folks ?

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    What column from the ComboBox is the bound column?

  3. #3
    baseborn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    17
    It says that its unbound but

    Control Source - blank
    Row Source - Categories
    Row Source Type - Table/Query
    Bound Column -1

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Select the correct field in the ControlSource property of the cbo and see what happens.

  5. #5
    baseborn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    17
    This Recordset is not updateable... The combo box shows all the categories but wont let me select. Both Tables have a ID column and both are set as the primary key.

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    You can change a ForeignKey field with a ComboBox but not a PrimaryKey field.

  7. #7
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 2K Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    Quote Originally Posted by baseborn View Post
    Ok ive been trying to create a working form thats going to allow me to enter movies into my database. i only have 2 tables. Table:Movies is the table that needs to be populated by the use of this form. just 3 fields per record (ID,Title and Category). my 2nd table is Table:Categories and it actually holds the list of categories. just 2 fields per record (ID and Category Name). now as far as my form all i need to do is type in a name for the movie im entering into the db, select what category it fits in from the combo box and click "Add Record" and boom its entered into Table:Movies
    This is how I would set up the form: (no spaces in names)
    Code:
    Table:Movies 
    -----------------------
    MovieID           (Autonumber) PK
    Title              Text
    CategoryID_FK      Long  FK to table Categories
    
    
    Table:Categories
    -----------------------
    CategoryID         (Autonumber) PK
    CategoryName        Text
    
    
    Combo box:   
    -----------------------
    Name:                cboCategory
    
    Control Source:      CategoryID_FK    
    Row Source Type:     Table/Query 
    Row Source:          SELECT CategoryID, CategoryName FROM Categories  ORDER BY CategoryName;
    Bound Column:        1
    Column Count:        2
    Column Widths:       0";1"
    List Width:          1"
    Limit to List:       YES

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Missing data in report
    By newtoAccess in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 10:40 AM
  2. Missing file
    By faceofevil in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 10:55 PM
  3. Missing Calendar Control 11.0
    By rnichols86 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 04:11 PM
  4. Missing Tables?
    By mrb398 in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 02:09 PM
  5. Probably missing something easy
    By z1efuller1 in forum Database Design
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 11:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums