Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Rramjet is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Combo box Not In List / new record creation

Hi - I am a novice to Access and VBa - so please bear with me...

I have a combo box that lists ID numbers. The user types in an ID - and if it exists - the form reveals the relevent information associated with that ID.

However, if the ID does not exist, then an error message is generated (Not in List) and one cannot proceed until a valid ID is selected.

Unfortunately this means that one cannot then create a new record (or add the new ID to the list).

Searching around I thought I had found a general way around it - as follows:

Private Sub Research_Id_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)

Dim Db As DAO.Database
    Dim Rs As DAO.Recordset
    Dim Msg As String

Msg = "'" & NewData & "' is not in the list." & vbCr & vbCr
    Msg = Msg & "Do you want to add it?"
    If MsgBox(Msg, vbQuestion + vbYesNo) = vbNo Then
    Response = acDataErrContinue
    MsgBox "Try again."

Else

Set Db = CurrentDb
    Set Rs = Db.OpenRecordset("TABLE_1", dbOpenDynaset)

Rs.AddNew
    Rs![ID] = NewData
    Rs.Update
    Response = acDataErrAdded

End If

End Sub

Unfortunately, although it works (sort of...), it creates anomalies in the database. This is because the ID combo box is in a form header while I have a subform in the body (listing the instances and dates of instances for that particular client). ..so when I click OK, it creates a new record (fine and dandy) ... but ALSO changes the ID of the client whose information was just being displayed to the ID I just typed... (oooops)

So, to prevent that, I have tried to write into the code

DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acLast
    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNext

..to get to that "(new)" record and to make sure all the information fields are blank before it starts, but no matter where i put that - all that does is break it...