aat is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007

Record automatic ranking on form

Hi all,

I learnt Access for a personal database and from many tips taken from that forum without proper training though so apologies in advance as you see will guess from my questions that I am not really experienced.

I have a number of records in my database and I use a form to input information, update fields etc. One of these fields is a ratio. I would like to create another field, in the record, input from the form, that automatically generate the ranking of the record in the database using the ratio, in descending (or ascending) order. So if I have 1000 records, the field would return, right after I update the ratio, which ranking within these 1000 it now holds.

Is this possible? In the event two (or more) records share the same ratio, what happens?

Thank you,

Aat

aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    "Is this possible?" Yes. In the AfterUpdate event of the field that will be used to calculate the ratio, put the actual calculation.

"In the event two (or more) records share the same ratio, what happens?". This is a design question, not an Access question - what do you want to happen?

Windows 7 Access 2007
    Hi Aytee111
    Thanks for replying.
    I realise my question was not clear at all.
    "In the AfterUpdate event of the field that will be used to calculate the ratio, put the actual calculation." >> Do you know the calculation? That's what I'm after.
    If two share the same ratio, then they should have the same ranking, basically. If the ranking is 1 to 1000 and both records arrive immediately after the record 546 for instance, then they should be both red 547, and the next record, logically, should be 549. Will this be figured out by Access or does it depend on the way the calculation is written?
    Thanks again.
    Aat.