Mandamus is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

trouble with query and null recordset

Hello All

I'm new to access VBA and I have been trying to make this make this sub works but I hit the wall every time with two different problems.

1 - my query seems fine and with debug.print it gives me value but when I run the sub it shows that the recordset is empty which is not.
    2 - if I remove the query and put the name of it instead and tried to use the filter on rst.filter I get the null value.

my table must have null values because we don't have inputs all the time and a teacher can create a class without having to assign specific subject or topic or even have an assistant. I have tried a continues form but it is not what i want though.

here is my code:

Private Sub Daily_Schedule1()

Dim dbs As DAO.Database
    Dim rst As DAO.Recordset
    Dim rstFiltered As DAO.Recordset
    Dim inQuery As String
    Dim strStart As String

Dim i As Integer
    Dim j As Integer

For i = 1 To 75
    inQuery = ("SELECT * FROM [qryDailyClass] WHERE [WeekNumber] = '" & Me.txtWeekNum & "' AND [CourseType] = '" & Me.TxtLevel & "' and [ClassNumber] = '" & i & "'")
    Debug.Print inQuery

Set dbs = CurrentDb
    Set rst = dbs.OpenRecordset(inQuery)

strStart = "txtClassNum" & CStr(i)
    Controls(strStart).Tag = i
    Controls(strStart) = rst!Teacher & " - " & rst!Assistant1 & " - " & vbNewLine & rst!Subject & " - " & vbNewLine & rst!Topic & " - "

rst.MoveNext

Next i

rst.Close
    Set rst = Nothing

End Sub

another problem is that I need the tag so I can open a continues form of the same record that is in the text box and I keep failing to make this sub too.

I will appreciate assistant on changing my code whenever anyone can see it.

thanks

Claude

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    you dont need any code to do any of this.
    This can be done in a continuous form. Set the query to filter whatever week you pick in a text box in the header.