Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    mimikate is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Question Update Query with parameter query

    I am so confused on how to do this. I have a college project to do and we had a fake scenario of a business and we had to set up the whole database.



    Basically there is a question that asks me to make a parameter and update query together....with a variable. I am so confused. If anyone is good with this please please please get back to me and I can explain the actual problem further.

    This is driving me crazy

  2. #2
    jgelpi16 is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    544
    I think I need some specifics before I try to answer this. Can you provide more specifics/sample data and I will try to help out.

  3. #3
    objNoob is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by mimikate View Post
    I am so confused on how to do this. I have a college project to do and we had a fake scenario of a business and we had to set up the whole database.

    Basically there is a question that asks me to make a parameter and update query together....with a variable. I am so confused. If anyone is good with this please please please get back to me and I can explain the actual problem further.

    This is driving me crazy
    Basically, you are being asked to make an update query that accepts a parameter in variable format.

    In access, if you create an update query as such...

    Code:
    UPDATE tblMyCompanyTable SET EmployeeWage=varWageParam WHERE EmployeeID=varEmpParam;
    Access when executing that code will have been unable to determine varWageParam and varEmpParam's values, thus prompting you, the user, for those values. This is an update query that uses variables which are assigned by the user. An update query that accepts parameters.... Voila~

    Warning: Not all DBMS act this way.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to run parameter query from VBA
    By John Southern in forum Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-07-2014, 02:24 PM
  2. Parameter Query & Wildcard
    By Rick West in forum Queries
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 10:54 AM
  3. Get value typed in for a Parameter query
    By terryvanduzee in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-14-2009, 03:01 AM
  4. Parameter in Crosstab Query
    By RandyG in forum Queries
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 06:40 AM
  5. Add combo box to parameter query
    By louisa14 in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2005, 08:38 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums