Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509

    initiating a value for a combobox

    I have on a form an unbound combo box (cboPresetOption) to which I want to assign a value when the form opens.

    The user can later change it, but I want to start with a value that I get thru a DLookup()

    MY attempt at assigning the value to the control is not working, although the msgbox does provide the correct answer...

    Your thoughts and suggestions woul dbe greatly appreciated in advance,


    mark

    -----------------------------------------
    Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)
    vtext = DLookup("[PresetTitle]", "tbeFixtureSchedulePrintOptions")
    MsgBox vtext 'this line is for debugging op
    Me.cboPresetOption = vtext
    Me.cboPresetOption.Requery
    End Sub

  2. #2
    NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,392
    try this:

    Me.cboPresetOption.value = vtext

    and eliminate this line which I believe undoes the previous line....
    Me.cboPresetOption.Requery

    off the cuff - hope it works.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509
    tried both your suggestions, which to me seemed like a latenly obvious solution (which I completely missed)

    also tried Me.cboPresetOption.defaultvalue = vtext

    alas... it's still not good

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    The Open event is too early in the process to reference a control on the form. Use the OnLoad event instead.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509
    sorry, that's not it either (does it matter that the control is on a page of a tab control ?)

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    No! Each control on a TabControl has a unique name and referencing them does not include the TabControl. Doesn't work huh, hmm?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509
    got me perplexed too...

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Does the form have a RecordSet? Try using the Current event if it does.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509
    didn't work either (hmpft !!!)

  10. #10
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Have you got a little sample you could post so we could play?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509
    not sure how to do that
    (sorry, self-taugh newbie here)

  12. #12
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Use the Post Reply button and scroll down to Manage Attachments.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509
    got that part, just not sure what to attach...
    if i exported the form, would i need to export if to a new database? what would happenn to all of the tables associated with it?
    should i simply send you screen shots of the form and it's code?
    ...and so forth

  14. #14
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Import just what you need into a new db.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fire Island Pines, NY
    Posts
    509
    like this? (see aattached)

    it doesn't seem like the back-end linked tables required for this form to open are working?
    (even though I've included them in the import)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Please I need help with combobox
    By em12 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 08:04 AM
  2. Combobox help
    By rnjalston in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 06:37 PM
  3. help with combobox
    By ManC in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 08:27 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 01:14 PM
  5. ComboBox Autocomplete
    By AdrianKitchen in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 11:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums