Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    michaeljohnh is offline More Human than Human
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    61

    Accessing Db through IE

    Hello

    I am setting up a small Db for a help desk of 6 people. I have made a database that consists of a table with a Problem column and a corresponding Solution column. I made forms to read and write new issues and their corresponding solutions to the table.

    Here's what I need: I want there to be an icon on a shared drive that we can click on that opens up a web browser (lets just say IE 6 since thats what we're running here and no i dont have the ability to change to a different browser). We would be able to enter the info into the page and it would communicate with the Access Db. So in short, I do not want Access to open up on their individual PCs, just an IE page that lets them read and write to the Db.

    Do I accomplish this by exporting the forms in a certain format and then code a web page to integrate that exported format?

    Thank you in advance for any assistance!

  2. #2
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    you are going to need to use ODBC. I would assume that most people use sql server with access because microsoft created both of them and I assume that the compatibility is high and ease of use is preferable to other systems.

    if you want VBA to interact with the browser, access obviously has to be open. But if you want complete integration, I would guess that you'll have to use sql server.

    but what I'm wondering is...why do it from a browser? with only 6 people, why not just use a shared access database? access forms are just as easy to use and any web form. there shouldn't be any sharing issues if you code it right.

  3. #3
    michaeljohnh is offline More Human than Human
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by ajetrumpet View Post
    but what I'm wondering is...why do it from a browser? with only 6 people, why not just use a shared access database? access forms are just as easy to use and any web form. there shouldn't be any sharing issues if you code it right.
    I might not have expressed myself correctly. My goal is to have a simple interface for the other techs to utilize. So, what I need is just the form to open without Access itself opening up (I had presumed that couldnt be done). That way they dont have the ribbon, tools, tables queries etc that make up the database. So if theres a way to link to just the forms without opening Access then that is what I would want. So I guess to recast my original question, can I make the forms be an object that can be accessed without Access actually opening up?

  4. #4
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    i don't think you can because objects are part of the program. what you can do though is open the form from a shortcut on the desktop (drag drop it from the program to your dt). the, use the code here to hide the entire program window:

    http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=2562

    I have tested it myself so I can confirm that it does work.

  5. #5
    NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,392
    lets frame the situation here; if all users are on the same LAN - - then definitely the easiest thing is to have a normal split mulituser set up. the Front End can be easily set up to a single form and toolbars, etc not visible.

    there is no reason to mess around with the complexity of a browser approach.

    if the users are geographically spread out - then the browser approach is needed and in which case you are looking at a web solution of which Access is one path but not necessarily the best depending on your overall situation.

  6. #6
    michaeljohnh is offline More Human than Human
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    61
    [QUOTE=NTC;29358]lets frame the situation here; if all users are on the same LAN - - then definitely the easiest thing is to have a normal split mulituser set up. the Front End can be easily set up to a single form and toolbars, etc not visible.
    QUOTE]

    We are all on the same LAN so are not geographically split up. So ideally I want each user to use the forms and nothing else. The aforementioned solution does work but Access is simply minimized on the task bar and can still be opened. So, I need people to be able to interact with the database without actually opening Access. So if you can provide greater detail how to accomplish that I would be greatly appreciate it.

  7. #7
    NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,392
    well it is very common to have an Access application with its own short cut to the desk top.

    when the user double clicks and opens that specific application - that application opens to a specific form....which set up as a start-up form.

    and the navigation pane / tool/menu bars are not visible, in order to keep the user inside the defined form/application - and not in generic Access....and one has a 'Quit Application' button in that form to shut it all down when done.

    All of these features are a standard offering of Access. Presuming you have an Access textbook you will find all these topics covered.

    Attempting to use Access via a browser is not feasible.

    Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    michaeljohnh is offline More Human than Human
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by NTC View Post
    All of these features are a standard offering of Access. Presuming you have an Access textbook you will find all these topics covered.

    Attempting to use Access via a browser is not feasible.

    Hope this helps.
    It does help knowing that Im not on a fool's errand but unfortunately my textbook doesnt cover what Im looking to do other than the functions in Access Option >>>Current Database. So I can do things like Disable Special Keys and Hide the Navigation Pane. But Access itself is still front and center.

    So, I want the techs be able to utilize the Db w/o Access being visible or minimized on the task bar.

  9. #9
    NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,392
    Be sure to look into making a custom ribbon. That will allow you to remove/streamline what the users see & do.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Accessing Another Application
    By searle in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 08:17 PM
  2. Accessing a Tab with a HotKey
    By SCFM in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2010, 07:28 AM
  3. adp accessing issue
    By fillerup in forum Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 09:59 AM
  4. Accessing Table via asp Errors
    By KLynch0803 in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2010, 09:59 AM
  5. Accessing Code For a Query
    By TexMax007 in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-2009, 08:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums