Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41

    navigate between forms dynamically

    Hi everyone, can you please help me for the following :

    I have developed a form to display the pareto analysis of a table ( by building a query initially and the making a form using chart wizard).

    The item that appears as maximum i.e. the one on the left most side has another report about what causes this item to be maximum.

    Please tell me how do i open this form form the earlier pareto form. The item that occupies this 'maximum' place changes from time to time. thus it has to be dynamic. Something like what we have for mobile maybe where we select what we are interested in and that opens and once we are done we can go back to the earlier page.



    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    53,616
    Not understanding what 'maximum' is. Is this a value that can be used as filter criteria to open report to specific record? Maybe use the WHERE CONDITION argument of OpenReport. Like:
    DoCmd.OpenReport "reportname", , , "fieldname=" & Me.Maximum

    Really need a better understanding of data structure and how you manipulate it. Do you want to provide project for analysis?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    Umm let em explain the basics of a pareto chart and how i am using it.

    Say you know 100 people. Now we enter in data every time you meet someone. There will be a few people that you talk to very regularly and a few that you barely meet.

    So lets say we generate a query counting the number of times you meet each of these 100 people and arrange it in descending order. You will tend to observe that 80 percent of the time, you meet only 20 percent of the people you know.

    Thus we will now have a bar chart about this query where we would meet person A say 30 times, person B say 20 times, person P say 6 times and so on.

    Now what I want is the ability to see the details about what time i have met person A. So I want to be able to go from this current bar chart(in a form) to the report/form which has these details. This has to be true for each of the top 5 people or more.

    Now with time, say next month I might meet person C the maximum number of times say 35. so now i want to see C's data.

    I hope you got what i emant by maximum

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    53,616
    What does the report show? Does it retrieve all the records that contribute to the aggregate value on graph? How is the form with the graph set up? Is the graph in form header? Is the aggregate query a RecordSource for the form so the summarized data are listed in detail section as Continuous view? If you want to see only P's details on report, select P's record and then open report with filter criteria for P's ID.

    If that doesn't help you get solution, would be a lot easier to advise if I could analyze the project.

    Make copy, remove/replace confidential data, run Compact & Repair, zip if large, Attachment Manager is below the Advanced post editor. Or upload to fileshare site such as box.com and post link to the file.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    hey..i dint get what you meant by aggregate value..and i cant post my file here, can only explain it by other examples.

    See i have made the original pareto chart using the following link :
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=208373

    in this example, I would like to see the list of all customers who bought a particular product. I would like to have a similar pareto of any customer ( since a single customer can buy more than two items of the same product). However I would like to go to this customers page directly from this original pareto as made from the link. ( Again in this , the next month, the organisation of the pareto chart might change i.e. the quantity of each product sold might change) so the buttons to go to the list of customers will change positions accordingly ( horizontally).

    I hope you have got what i want now. please. cause i really need this for my project.

    Thanks a lot for all your help.

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    53,616
    Graphs often plot some sort of aggregate (summary) data like averages, percentages, sums. It looked to me like that's what you are doing. I have hard time analyzing graphing issues without being able to manipulate data and test the graph, even though I have done quite a few, each one seems so unique.

    Why can't attach to post? If you really can't provide your project or some extract of it for me to work with, I can't help further because I am just not able to visualize the setup from your descriptions.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    Umm ohk, before I go ahead, please tell me one thing, do you know what a pareto chart is?

  8. #8
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    53,616
    Not sure how the question is relevent but this is the first time heard of so did a search and read about. Doesn't matter what the chart is, data manipulation is data manipulation. Provide an algorithm and I'll probably figure out a way to program it. What I am really confused about is your forms and how they behave and user interaction.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  9. #9
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    hehe..
    and sorry had no access to internet for the last two days...
    anyway..i guess forget about about all the charts and stuff, its actually just that i want a form which will have a command button to open another form. However the form which this command button opens changes from time to time.

    So how do I generate a query which a command button can use to open another form. ( I know what query I want, if all I have to do is generate a query and output the value on a table. However this output of the query is to be used here)

    Also, I would like the name of this command button to be the name of the form it is opening. So as the form to be opened changes, the name of the command button should also change

  10. #10
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    53,616
    None of that makes sense to me.

    Changing name of button is a design edit. VBA would have to open the form in DesignView, modify property, save form with edits.

    Why have one command button serve to open various forms? Have user chose action from a listbox or combobox or option group and then code opens the appropriate object.

    Query has nothing to do with command to open a form. If you want to modify the RecordSource property of a form that is called, that is another matter (this should be a rare if ever requirement). If you want to open the form filtered to a specific record, that is also another matter.

    If you can't offer detailed and explicit description of what you really need to accomplish, we can't offer much advice.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  11. #11
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    My question right from the beginning is that I want to use the same command button at different times to open different forms, depending on the situation. I am using a query to know the situation. Plain and simple as that

    And no i cannot use a listbox, etc.

    ( For changing name normally, I know how to do that, but having the button name based on the situation is what i am stuck at)

    So is this possible(Atleast the earlier part, without the command button name change)?

    Please understand it isnt a simple thing to do, otherwise I myself would have managed to achieve it by now.

  12. #12
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    53,616
    The query part is what makes the least sense. The query is in VBA code or a saved Access object?

    The DoCmd.OpenForm can have a variable as the form name argument. I just don't understand how the query will control setting the variable.

    Dim strFormName As String
    strFormName = some value from somewhere
    DoCmd.OpenForm strFormName
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  13. #13
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    Exactly, its is the query part i have no clue how to implement and that is why i am here!

    The query can be anything, a VBA code or a saved Access object, whatever makes it easier.

    But yes it is how to control this variable by a query i a confused at.

    how do i implement the some value from somewhere part?

  14. #14
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    53,616
    Need some criteria to base decision of which report to run. What is that criteria - user input, the current date, user ID? How can a query be this criteria? A query, whether in VBA or Access is an object, not a single value.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  15. #15
    rohini is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    ok, i take a user input about what chocolates he has bought. This is stored in a table
    For example, i buy 2 mars bars, 5 snicker bars and 10 toblerone bars.

    I am using a query to get me which chocolate i have bought most.
    So the output of this query will be an object which in datasheet format says toblerone.

    Now, since I have bought toblerone the most, i will use this ' most loved chocolate' command button to open a form
    ( which say for example asks me what i love about toblerone.) This will be a toblerone specific form. ( i.e. if i had bought 30 fruit bars, i would have to open a different fruit bar specific form.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Macro to navigate to tab or subform
    By larrydwilliams in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2012, 07:31 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2011, 04:26 AM
  3. Navigate to a record in a listbox
    By jackkent in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-03-2010, 09:36 AM
  4. VBA to Navigate form
    By asmith in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 11:37 AM
  5. Navigate window to import txt
    By Macallan60 in forum Access
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-13-2010, 12:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums